Bendigo Writers Festival returns in May

Bendigo Writers Festival will return from May 6-9, with a mix of in-person and digital events to cater for all audiences.

The theme for this year’s festival is ‘Strewth!’ reflecting the many new challenges and experiences that 2020 presented.

The festival will comprise 51 events featuring 104 international and Australian writers, including author Don Watson, former politicians Cathy McGowan and Scott Ludlam, social researcher Hugh Mackay and comedian Fiona O’Laughlin.

Bendigo Writers Festival Director Rosemary Sorensen said the festival focus had always been on embracing the “good life”, as well as food and health.

“This year there’s an even more urgent need to hear from smart, informed and helpful writers about what it means to have a good life,” Ms Sorensen said.

“For those who attend in person, we’ve devised a program schedule that is safe, comfortable and highly entertaining.

“The expansion of online event presentation means we can welcome writers from places like New York and London, as well as opening up to anyone, anywhere, to share our event.

“We’re so looking forward to welcoming everyone back to Bendigo Writers Festival this year.”

Mayor Cr Jennifer Alden said Bendigo Writers Festival was a highlight of the Bendigo events calendar.

“Bendigo Writers Festival is a much loved and well attended event and it was very sad to have to cancel last year,” Cr Alden said.

“But it is a pleasure to be able to welcome the festival back in 2021 and it promises to be as stimulating, thought-provoking and life-affirming as ever.”

The Festival takes place at The Capital and Ulumbarra, plus several events at Bendigo Library. The festival will have a COVID-Safe plan including ensuring physical distancing at venues.

International guests include: Steven Greenblatt, Nicholson Baker, Amitav Ghosh, Peter Van Den Ende, Adam Sharp, Wenfei Tong, Simon Parke, Daniel Lee, James Canton, Ketan Joshi, Raj Patel and David Rothkopf.

Australian writers include Eugen Bacon, Ella Baxter, James Boyce, Steve Carroll, Danielle Celermajer, Stephen Conte, Zoe Daniel, Elizabeth Flux, Zana Fraillon, Hilde Hinton and Samuel Johnson,  Meredith Lake, Scott Ludlum, Hugh Mackay, Sophie Masson, Thomas Mayor, Cathy McGowan, Louise Milligan, Sacha Molitorisz, Margo Neale, Rachel Nightingale, Garth Nix, Fiona O’Loughlin, Yves Rees, Madeleine Ryan, Jock Serong, Margaret Simons, Jessica Walton, Don Watson, Pip Williams, Alice Zaslavsky and Nevo Zisin.

Tickets will go on sale on March 10, at



Media Release Date

We welcome your feedback.

Did you know you can log requests online?

This includes several bin requests such as missed bins, footpath maintenance, tree inspections and general requests. Visit our make a request page.

Do you want us to contact you?*
Preferred contact method*