Restricted breed and dangerous dogs

Restricted breed dogs

Restricted breed dogs are considered to be a higher risk to community safety than other breeds of dogs.

There are five breeds of dogs prohibited from being imported into Australia:

  • American Pit Bull Terrier (or Pit Bull Terrier)
  • Fila Brasileiro
  • Japanese Tosa
  • Dogo Argentino
  • Perro de Presa Canario (or Presa Canario)

Reporting a restricted breed dog

Before you report a suspected restricted breed dog, check the Standard for Restricted Breed Dogs in Victoria on the Department of Agriculture website.

Keeping a restricted breed dog in Bendigo

Owners may keep their restricted breed dogs in Bendigo as long as the dogs were in Victoria prior to September 1, 2010 and registered (as any breed) with a Victorian Council prior to September 30, 2011.

Dangerous dogs

We can declare a dog dangerous if it attacks and seriously injures a person or other animal, or if the dog is used for the purpose of guarding a non-residential premises. 

If a dog is declared dangerous

All dogs declared dangerous must wear special identification and coloured collars. It must also be permanently identified with a microchip.

Dangerous dogs must either be confined in an escape-proof area on their owner's premises and warning signs must be placed on the owner's property, including its gates, identifying the presence of a dangerous dog.

A dangerous dog must be on a leash and muzzled at all times when it is outside the owner's property.

Owners of dangerous dogs are subject to criminal offences if their dog kills or endangers the life of someone. Owners can be jailed for up to 10 years if their dog kills someone, or for up to five years if their dog endangers someone's life.